Saturday, 27 November 2021, 08:24:11 pm
Turkish President Erdogan orders expulsion of 10 Western ambassadors
October 23, 2021

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan has ordered the expulsion of ambassadors of ten countries, including Germany and the United States, over their statement on the ongoing case of a businessman Osman Kavala.

Addressing a ceremony in Eskisehir province today [Saturday], President Erdogan said he has instructed his foreign minister to declare the ambassadors of these countries as persona non grata.

The embassies of the United States, Germany, Denmark, Finland, France, the Netherlands, Sweden, Canada, Norway and New Zealand had shared a statement on social media calling for Kavala's release.

Earlier, the Turkish Foreign Ministry summoned the ambassadors of these countries, accusing them of meddling in the country's judiciary.